WCCA History

WCCA1 – Oct. 1-5, 2001, Madrid, Spain

Organized by Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the European

Conservation Agriculture Federation (ECAF)

Objective:  to bring together farmers, advisers, scientists, private sector stakeholders and decision-makers to share information and experiences, and to encourage further interactions and development.

Participants:

  • 70 countries represented
  • about 2,000 farmers participated in the 3 days of field activities;
  • about 600 experts participated in the two days of congress meetings in Madrid
  • 100 participants attended the closing session in Cordoba
  • 800 attended t the closing session in Burgos.

WCCA2 – August 11-15, 2003, Iguassu Falls, Paraná State, Brazil

Theme: Producing in Harmony with Nature

Participants:

  •  50 countries represented

 WCCA3 – Oct. 3-7, 2005, Nairobi, Kenya

Organized by the African Conservation Tillage Network (ACT)
Theme: Linking Production, Livelihoods and Conservation aimed at providing evidence  that conservation agriculture is a means of not only sustainable agricultural  production but also of improving the livelihood of rural households, especially farming families.

Participants:

  • More than 500 experts from development agencies, research institutions, agricultural administration and extension, agribusiness players and farmers

WCCA4 – Feb. 4 – 7, 2009, New Dehli, India

Organized jointly by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) and National Academy of Agricultural Sciences (NAAS)

Theme: Innovations for improving efficiency, equity and environment

Participants:

  • More than 1,000 agricultural experts from around the world

WCCA5 – Sept. 26-29, 2011, Brisbane, Australia

Organized by Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC) and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR)

Themes: More efficient management practices for Conservation Agriculture to improve livelihoods / profitability / food security and to reduce environmental footprint;  Designing productive farming systems that integrate solutions and balance trade-offs; Achieving impact through more effective consultation, participation and knowledge sharing; Informing policy development and supporting market effectiveness

Participants:

  • More than 500 scientists, students, farm managers, policy makers, conservationists and others interested in sustainability, conservation and farming systems
  • 60 countries represented

WCCA6 – June 22-26, 2014, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Organized by the Conservation Agriculture Systems Alliance (http://www.ctic.org/Conservation Agriculture Systems Alliance/)

Themes: Sustainable intensification, climate resilient systems, innovative adoption

Participants anticipated:

  • More than 700 producers, researchers, and government, NGO and industry leaders

CASA represents a broad range of local, regional and national conservation agriculture organizations from across Canada, Mexico and the United States. CASA members include:

• Conservation Technology Information Center (CTIC) [U.S.]

• Conservation Tillage and Cropping Systems Work Group (California) [U.S.]

• Conservation Tillage Association [Mexico]

• Georgia Conservation Tillage Alliance [U.S.]

• Manitoba – North Dakota Zero Tillage Farmer’s Association [Canada & U.S.]

• No-till on the Plains (Kansas, Nebraska, Colorado, South Dakota, North Dakota) [U.S.]

• Ohio No-Till Council [U.S.]

• Pacific Northwest Direct Seed Association (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana) [U.S.]

• Pennsylvania No-Till Alliance [U.S.]

• Saskatchewan Soil Conservation Association (SSCA) [Canada]

• Soil Conservation Council of Canada (SCCC)

• Southern Plains Agricultural Resources Coalition (Oklahoma) [U.S.]

• Virginia No-tillage Alliance (VANTAGE) [U.S.]

Planning Committees

Fundraising Committee, primarily responsible for compiling the master budget and raising funds,

Program Committee, responsible for developing agenda and content of the program,

  • Jerry Hatfield, National Laboratory for Agriculture and the Environment, USDA Agricultural Research Service,  jerry.hatfield@ars.usda.gov
  • Jodi DeJong-Hughes, University of Minnesota Extension, dejon003@umn.edu
  • Bill Kuenstler, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Bill.Kuenstler@ftw.usda.gov
  • Peter Gamache, Controlled Traffic Farming Alberta,  pmgamache@gmail.com
  • Sjoerd Duiker, Penn State University Extension,  sduiker@psu.edu
  • Wade Thomason, Virginia Tech Extension,  wthomaso@vt.edu
  • Marie Boehm, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, marie.boehm@agr.gc.ca
  • Tom Goddard, Senior Policy Advisory with Alberta Agriculture and Rural Development, tom.goddard@gov.ab.ca
  • Dr. David Lobb, Senior Research Chair, University of Manitoba, lobbda@cc.umanitoba.ca
  • Neonila Martyniuk, Agro-Soyuz, nila@agro.dp.ua
  • Neil Galbraith, producer, Manitoba, neilgalb@gmail.com
  • Alan Kruszel, producer, Ontario, alan@agri-source.ca
  • Gottleib Basch, European Conservation Agriculture Federation, gbasch@ecaf.org
  • Denis Garrity, Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research d.garrity@cgiar.org
  • Helena Gomez, Institute of Sustainable Agriculture, Spain, hgomez@cica.es

Marketing Committee, responsible for promoting the event

  • Wade Thomason, Virginia Tech Extension, wthomaso@vt.edu
  • Josie VanLent, Soil Conservation Council of Canada, Josie.VanLent@lakelandcollege.ca
  • Karen Scanlon, Conservation Technology Information Center, Scanlon@ctic.org
  • Don McCabe, Soil Conservation Council of Canada, dmccabe@xcelco.on.ca
  • Maarten Van Oord, producer, New Brunswick, mvanoord@aernet.ca
  • Adam Hayes, Ontario Agriculture, adam.hayes@ontario.ca
  • Jeff Whetstine, jeff@consultmarch.com

 Canadian Organizing Committee, responsible for logistical details regarding the conference and tours in Winnipeg as well as border crossing

  • Glen Shaw, Soil Conservation Council of Canada, g.b.shaw@shaw.ca
  • Peter Gamache, Controlled Traffic Farming Alberta, pmgamache@gmail.com
  • Josie VanLent, Soil Conservation Council of Canada, Josie.VanLent@lakelandcollege.ca
  • Marla Riekman, Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives, Marla.riekman@gov.mb.ca
  • Sue Hubbs, Soil Conservation Council of Canada, slhubbs@sasktel.net

Canadian Tour Committee (sub-committee)

U.S. Organizing Committee, responsible for logistical details regarding U.S. tours and border crossing

  • Ruth Beck, South Dakota State University, Ruth.Beck@sdstate.edu
  • Neonila Martyniuk, Agro-Soyuz, nila@agro.dp.ua
  • Jeff Mitchell, Conservation Tillage Working Group (California), Mitchell@uckac.edu
  • Jodi DeJong-Hughes, University of Minnesota Extension, dejon003@umn.edu
  • Rick Bieber, South Dakota No-Till Association, 2tillornot2@westriv.com
  • David Archer, USDA Agricultural Research Service, david.archer@ars.usda.gov